I, Cosmo

Age Range: 5 - 11

The story of one dog's attempt to save his family, become a star, and eat a lot of bacon. Cosmo's family is falling apart. And it's up to Cosmo to keep them together. He knows exactly what to do. There's only one problem. Cosmo is a Golden Retriever. Wise, funny, and filled with warmth and heart, this is Charlotte's Web meets Little Miss Sunshine - a moving, beautiful story, with a wonderfully unique hero, from an incredible new voice in middle-grade fiction - perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Kate DiCamillo.


Book Author: Carlie Sorosiak

See More Books from this author

Teaching Ideas and Resources:

English

  • Write your own story from the point of view of a pet.
  • Retell part of the story from Max’s point of view.
  • Create a persuasive poster to encourage people to support a local dog rescue shelter.
  • Make a list of arguments for and against dog dancing competitions.
  • Make a timeline showing the main events in the story.
  • Cosmos’s favourite film is Grease. What film do you enjoy most? Why? Could you write a review?
  • Write a report about how dogs can help us.
  • Make a list of commands that a dog might know. How would you go about teaching a new command?
  • Watch this video in which the author introduces the book. What questions would you like to ask her?

Computing

  • Make an animation which features a dancing dog.

Art

  • Use a range of materials to create pictures of different breeds of dog.
  • Using information from the text, draw a picture of Max.
  • Draw a portrait of your pet or of a favourite animal.
  • At one point in the story, Max and Emmaline make up a story about Cosmo saving the neighbourhood with a squirrel on his back. Use this idea to create a comic strip.

Geography

  • The beach is Cosmo’s favourite place. Where is your favourite place? Write a review of it for a travel site.

History

  • How have animals helped people at different times throughout history?

Physical education

  • Create a dance routine that could be performed at a competition.

PSHE

  • Cosmo supports Max when his parents separate. How could you help a friend experiencing a similar situation?

Comments

Filtered HTML

  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.